Movies on the Beach Alfredo's Beach Club 2016 (copy)

Alfredo's Beach Club offers free movie showings at Granada, Cherry and Shoreline Beaches all summer long.

Movies on the beach are back, and like every summer, the evening events will remain free and family friendly.

With help from sponsors Long Beach Transit, Port of Long Beach and Long Beach Stuff, Alfredo's Beach Club, a family-owned event planning company known for its beach rentals, burger shacks and ever evolving summer events lineup, is hosting another season of free film showings and activities for the public to take part in.

The first film kicks off on Tuesday, June 18, and then movies will run every Tuesday and Thursday until the last showing on Aug. 20. All movies begin at dusk, around 8 p.m.

And this year, organizers are asking movie-goers to bring extra canned food and non-perishable items with them in their picnic baskets.

The Community Action Team, a Long Beach-based charity organization, will be facilitating donations for different charities each evening. Details about the different charities will be available on the Alfredo's Beach Club website before each showing. New socks, dog and cat food and pet toys are also on the list for desired donations. 

Showings are scheduled at Granada Beach (5101 E. Ocean Blvd.), Cherry Beach (1 Junipero Ave.) and Alamitos Beach (802 E. Ocean Blvd.) and run during select Tuesdays and Thursdays. The schedule is:

"The Sandlot;" Tuesday, June 18, Granada Beach

"Happy Gilmore;" Thursday, June 20, Cherry Beach

 "Goonies;" Tuesday, June 25, Granada Beach

 "Jaws;" Tuesday, July 2, Granada Beach

 "Little Mermaid;" Tuesday, July 9, Granada Beach

 "Nightmare Before Christmas;" Tuesday, July 16, Granada Beach

 "Coco;" Thursday, July 18, Cherry Beach

 "AquaMan;" Tuesday, July 23, Granada Beach

 "Ready Player One;" Tuesday, July 30, Granada Beach

 "E.T.;" Thursday, Aug. 1, Cherry Beach

 "Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse;" Tuesday, Aug. 6, Granada Beach

 "Incredibles 2;" Thursday, Aug. 8, Nautilus Shell (The Nautilus Shell is located in between PF Chang’s and Gladestone's in Rainbow Harbor, downtown Long Beach).

 "Beetlejuice;" Tuesday, Aug. 13, Granada Beach

 "Wizard of OZ;" Thursday, Aug. 15, Shoreline Village

 "Ferris Bueller's Day Off;" Tuesday, Aug. 20, Granada Beach

In addition to movies, Alfredo's is hosting the annual Pirate Invasion and Mermaid Festival, Love Long Beach Festival and Kids' Fishing Rodeo, which closes out the summer events at the end of August.

For more information about Alfredo's Beach Club, or to see what else is scheduled in Alfredo's summer lineup, go to alfredosbeachclub.com.

Stephanie Stutzman can be reached at sstutzman@gazettes.com.

Load comments